Just a short walk from the Castle, you will find Argyll’s Lodging.
Argyll’s Lodging was once home to the 9th Earl of Argyll, and is now open to visitors, free of charge. It’s open daily from 1pm – 4pm.
Over the years, the house was added to and embellished by its previous owners. In the 1660s, it was bought by Archibald Campbell, the 9th Earl of Argyll.
During his time in the townhouse, Argyll made many more changes from adding a screen wall around the courtyard to building an extension. Apart from a few structural changes he left all the original rooms unchanged and to this day much of the decoration survives.
Just 20 years later, Argyll was declared a traitor when he failed to accept royal authority or denounce the Covenant. He escaped into exile and was later condemned and executed in 1685.
Argyll’s time in the townhouse has helped us to gain a unique insight into the lifestyle of 17th Century noblemen.
Join a guided tour to hear more about Argyll and its previous owner. Speak to a member of staff onsite to find out more about the tours.